REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: Rise of the Snake Goddess (Samantha Knox #2) by Jenny Elder Moke

REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: Rise of the Snake Goddess (Samantha Knox #2) by Jenny Elder Moke

I'm so excited to be on the Rise of the Snake Goddess tour! Check out my review below and enter a fabulous giveaway! Enjoy♥

REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: Rise of the Snake Goddess (Samantha Knox #2) by Jenny Elder MokeRise of the Snake Goddess (Samantha Knox #2)
by Jenny Elder Moke
Purchase on: AmazoniBooks
Book Depository
Add to: Goodreads
Synopsis:

The beautiful island of Crete, an archaeological find for the ages, and one seriously pissed-off Greek goddess. It’s just another day for Samantha Knox.

After being snubbed by her college’s archaeology department for an honor she rightfully earned, Sam is hell-bent on proving her worth to her misogynistic department head. So when an opportunity presents itself to solve the hidden meaning behind a symbol found inside a cave in Greece, Sam is all over it, and she’s bringing Bennett and Jo with her for the cross-Atlantic trip. Once on the island of Crete, Sam finds a treasure she never expected―the golden girdle of an ancient and powerful goddess, and she can’t resist its siren call, or the accolades she would win for discovering it. But before she can take credit for the find, the girdle is stolen and the island is hit with a series of earthquakes that don’t feel quite coincidental.

Soon Sam, Bennett, and Jo are embroiled in a wild hunt―one that takes them to tiny island shops, a glamorous high-stakes auction, and a fiery near-death experience―to find the girdle before someone can use it to raise the ancient goddess from her slumber. An unexpected heist, a terrifying trek through a labyrinth, and a fight to the death with the Minotaur itself lead to a final standoff she and her friends won’t soon forget―one that might just break up Sam and Bennett for good.

Set against the gorgeous backdrop and ancient ruins of the Greek islands, the pulse-pounding action in this twisting mystery will appeal to action-adventure fans, romance die-hards, and mythology buffs alike.

Review:

Rise of the Snake Goddess was an action packed adventure!  With mythology, treasure hunts and even a goddess, this book was a lot of fun.  Fans of National Treasure and The Mummy should have a blast reading this book!

“Isn’t that what drew us to this course of study in the first place? The promise of a discovery that would change the world?”
“Last time we discovered something, it nearly ended the world,” Bennett pointed out.
“Are you going to let that keep you from ever seeking adventure again?” Sam asked.

Our favorites Sam, Jo, and Bennett were together at college.  When they intercepted a letter for Bennett’s professor, who we met in Curse of the Specter Queen, it led them on an adventure of a lifetime.  They ended up of traveling to Crete, yet not everything was at it seemed.  Caves, treasure hunters, relics, mythology and puzzles filled the story making this a fascinating read!

“It’s a secret passage,” she breathed in wonder.

The characters made this story for me!  Jo continued to crack me up with her antics and do what she wanted to do attitude.  I loved how she could be so clever!  But most of all I loved her and Sam’s mended friendship and how they worked together as a team.  They were the truest of best friends!  Sam continued to impress me with her ability to not quit and her wits!  Sam was so clever and smart, the adventure she led us on was one I won’t forget!

“Just once in this whole business, Bennett, I do wish you’d understand what I’m trying to do. I wish you’d understand me.”
Bennett looked down in surprise. “Why do you think I don’t understand you?”
“Because if you did, you’d help me, instead of constantly trying to stop me.”

Shockingly I felt like Bennett was the one who needed to grow the most in this story.  He always tried to see the best in others.  And while that was an admirable trait, it also led him to put that trust in others blindly that didn’t deserve it.  I was so happy to see how far he had come from that first page to the last.  Plus I loved seeing how much he cared for Sam and his sister, and the lengths he would go to to protect them.

These walls weren’t built to keep something out; they were built to keep something in.

The cast also included characters I absolutely loathed like Theo and one of the other professors, Professor Atchinson.  There were others who I didn’t know if we should trust or not.  It kept me guessing and I loved that each one stood out and felt unique.  Finishing that last page, I felt like the message in this book was only you can find your true self-worth.  You can’t let it be dictated by others and their expectations of you. Only you can forge your own path and love yourself truly.  I was so happy that Sam, Bennett and even Jo encompassed those feelings on their journey!

The Snake Goddess had risen.

Stories were told, lies were spun and Sam, Jo and Bennett did everything possible to keep themselves not only out of trouble but alive too!  There was a secret that came out from the first book that left me dying laughing!  It was so perfect lol!  So with a smidgen of romance and a ton of adventure, Rise of the Snake Goddess was a story not to be missed!

*I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book, provided by the publisher. All thoughts and opinions are my own.*

 

 

Find it:
GoodreadsAmazonKindle, AudibleB&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD,
Bookshop.org


 

 About  Jenny Elder Moke:

Jenny Elder Moke writes young adult fiction in an attempt to recapture the shining infinity of youth. Her debut novel, Hood, was a Junior Library Guild Selection, a Mayor’s Book Club selection, and received critical acclaim.

When she is not writing, she’s gathering story ideas from her daily adventures with her two irredeemable rapscallions and honing her ninja skills as a black belt in Tae Kwon Do. Jenny lives in Denver, CO with her husband and two children.

 

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | TikTok | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

 

 

Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

6/1/2022

YABooksCentral

Excerpt

6/2/2022

@simplybeccamee

IG Review

6/3/2022

Just Another Teen Reading Books

Review/IG Post

6/4/2022

Review Thick And Thin

Review/IG Post

Week Two:

6/5/2022

A Court of Coffee and Books

Review/IG Post

6/6/2022

Karen Dee’s Book Reviews

Review/IG Post

6/7/2022

Book-Keeping

Review/IG Post

6/8/2022

More Books Please blog

Review/IG Post

6/9/2022

Lisa Loves Literature

Review/IG Post

6/10/2022

@wraithreads

TikTok Review/IG Post

6/11/2022

DB’S Guide to the Galaxy

Review

Week Three:

6/12/2022

@drewsim12

IG Review/TikTiok Review

6/13/2022

Read With Serena

Review/IG Post

6/14/2022

@ReadsReaders

YouTube Review/IG Post/TikTok Post

6/15/2022

Star-Crossed Book Blog

Review/IG Post

6/16/2022

popthebutterfly

Review/IG Post/TikTok Post

6/17/2022

Fire and Ice

Review/IG Post

6/18/2022

@coffeesipsandreads

Review/IG Post

Week Four:

6/19/2022

beersbooksandboos

Review/IG Post/TikTok Post

6/20/2022

The Real World According To Sam

Review/IG Post

6/21/2022

@jacleomik33 The Page Ladies

IG Post Review

6/22/2022

The Reading Devil

Review/IG Post

6/23/2022

Emmiepooh2

IG Review

6/24/2022

The Girl Who Reads

Review/IG Post

6/25/2022

Lifestyle of Me

Review

Week Five:

6/26/2022

Two Points of Interest

Review

6/27/2022

The Momma Spot

Review/IG Post

6/28/2022

BookBriefs

Review/IG Post

6/29/2022

Library of Alexandria Archives

Review/IG Post

6/30/2022

onemused

Review/IG Post

Stay up to date on our latest book posts

They contain Reviews, Recommendations, Upcoming Releases & Giveaways! We don't want you to miss anything, so signup below!

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

2 Comments

  1. Lisa Mandina (Lisa Loves Literature)

    I agree that Bennett had the most growing to do in this one for me too! Great review!
    Lisa Mandina (Lisa Loves Literature) recently posted…Blog Tour Review: Rome for the Summer by Lynne ShelbyMy Profile

    • Jen

      I was completely surprised by it, but I’m so glad you thought the same! Thank you, Lisa!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

© 2022

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑